Darwin’s Finches

A concise write-up on this subject is found at J. Kimball’s Biology Page. It gives a drawing containing sketches of 13 finch species. The species names are:

  1. Large cactus finch (Geospiza conirostris)
  2. Large ground finch (Geospiza magnirostris)
  3. Medium ground finch (Geospiza fortis)
  4. Cactus finch (Geospiza scandens)
  5. Sharp-beaked ground finch (Geospiza difficilis)
  6. Small ground finch (Geospiza fuliginosa)
  7. Woodpecker finch (Cactospiza pallida)
  8. Vegetarian tree finch (Platispiza crassirostris)
  9. Medium tree finch (Camarhynchus pauper)
  10. Large tree finch (Camarhynchus psittacula)
    [last two found later on in the same page]
  11. Small tree finch (Camarhynchus parvulus)
  12. Warbler finch (Certhidia olivacia)
  13. Mangrove finch (Cactospiza heliobates)

Darwin originally mistook these finches for grosbeaks. Drawing reproduced below

About coonalkadam09

This account was automatically created by my wordpress blog, which itself was transferred from live spaces. More information will be added here later.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s